top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

"You're the only cheerful person

I've talked to lately," said a friend on the phone.

She said it in a tone of puzzlement mixed with amazement.


Well, let's see....


I'm breathing in and out. (Isn't that something to be happy about?)


My heart is beating. (Isn't that something to be happy about?)


I feel great -- not in any pain. (Isn't that something to be happy about?)


The weather has been fantastic -- warm for the coming of spring, and yet periodic moisture that my region always needs.


My dogs are all healthy and happy.


I had the most incredible dinner tonight. One of the Home Chef meals -- pork loin, with a bacon-onion marmalade, and a huge serving of carrots with butter and pecans. Amazing combination of flavors.


I made a few hundred dollars this morning, getting the numbers compiled for a couple of businesses for a once-a-year-client. I've still got a couple of more of those annual clients to do. It's wonderful to be working, and to have opportunities for extra money.


I sleep really, really good.


I've got a book I'm reading. A novel or something that I'm writing. I've watched a lot of movies lately.


Isn't all the above things, among countless others, worth being happy about? That's a rhetorical question, because I'm happy about them regardless of anyone else's thoughts or feelings. I know there's many who are worried and unhappy. Some are sick. But I can't get stressed out enough to help those who are stressed out. I can't get worried enough to help those who are worried. I can't get sick enough to help those who are sick.


What I can do is live my life. That's a really special thing when one treats life as something special.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page