top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

Longmire

Updated: Sep 21, 2020

I've been watching this.

With so much free time on my hands, and continually flustered with anything interesting to watch from hundreds of channels, I decided to buy the first season of Longmire, since a lot of Yellowstone fans like it.


It's about the sheriff of a fictional rural county in northern Wyoming. While he's typically TV-hero clever, he's highly flawed and tormented. I like his quiet brooding manner. I also appreciate the pace of the show. Interesting stories, while rarely getting over-the-top with disbelief. Each show has a standalone murder to solve, but the situations of the permanent characters are ongoing.


As a contrast, I've seen a few episode of The Prodigal Son, because a longtime friend of mine watches it. But that modern show, while having a unique premise, stomps on believability almost line-by-line. And speaking of lines, they're fired off in such a hurried fashion -- like the actors are trying to win a contest as to who can speak the most words in the shortest time -- that my friend admitted that she can't always read everything on closed caption before it switches to the next sentence. Plus, details of the over-the-top grandiose murders are figured out by characters in, literally, a few sentences.


Whereas, Longmire solves its plots at a more casual pace that allows the viewer to settle in and care about what happens to even the temporary characters.


I'm now watching the second season. There's six seasons, totally 63 episodes, that ended in 2019. I don't know if it can stick to its theme that long without feeling drab, but for now I'm enjoying the ride.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page