top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

"Why Not Write Real Stuff?"

Updated: Mar 22, 2020

Asked those who didn't understand why anyone would want to contribute their time to writing fanfic.

People are so weird about money. Most can say, "Money isn't everything", but almost nobody genuinely believes it.


Slash aside, try explaining fan fiction writing to someone who doesn't write or read that genre. They've historically been very baffled by a hobby that involves making up stories and actually typing them out -- and not getting paid! "Why don't you write 'real' stuff?" they ask. I brought this subject up once on a Livejournal post some fifteen years ago, and there was a lot of commiseration from other fanfic writers who had confronted the same lack of understanding. If something isn't published by a publishing house, and available to buy off the shelves of a bookstore, then it's not "real writing". And if one actually wants to spend their time writing, then why not write "real stuff"?


I assume the outlook on this has softened quite a bit in recent years, because "self publishing" in some form or other is more normalized.


Men usually have the toughest time with investing a big part of one's life in something that doesn't pay in spendable dollars. As a gender, they usually feel the most pressure to provide for their family(s). If it doesn't pay, why bother?


I LOVE money. Dear Universe, please know that I have greatly appreciated, and will continue to greatly appreciate, any money you want to rain down on me. Lots of things in life are easier with more money, and I'm a strong believer in taking the path of least resistance that you continually show me, to the greatest joy I can possibly experience. Keep it coming!


Yet, somewhere along the line, the joy of living took a backseat to the idea of making money for the sake of making money. For some reason, the thrill and exhilaration of something isn't considered a worthwhile payoff for many. I am so, so glad I'm not one of those.


The satisfaction and enjoyment of composing a story with characters one feels passionate about... that it a wonderful investment of time.


I've run into this same thing with owning micro shares in racehorses. Tell someone I own in racehorses, and the first question out of their mouth is, "Oh, so can you make a lot of money at that?" HUH??? Investing in racehorses is one of the highest risk investments there is. So, it's pretty ignorant of anyone to do it for the money. Even fellow horse lovers will ask, "You can get money from doing that?"


I'm resigned to the idea that you can't share exhilaration with another person, except those who are directly involved and share the same passion. I tell someone, "One of the horses I own in won her race last week!" Do they respond, "That sounds cool!" Or "I bet that was fun to watch!" No, their reaction is, "So, how much do you get from that?" ***sigh*** Do they really think that the incredible, heart pumping thrill of seeing your horse well in front of its rivals pales in comparison to any money won?


In 2003, when I had a "bird theme" going on in my life, I was driving around Washington state, and it was one of my life's peak experiences when a bald eagle was flying low over the Columbia River and flew right in front of the windshield of my car. It was like God had just said "Hello". I was exhilarated for days after that. That evening in my hotel, I called a good friend and told her about it. She deadpanned, "You've never seen a bald eagle before?" Never mind. It was MY peak experience, not hers.


I was once at a horse show to watch my niece. A woman laid her fifth place ribbon on the railing and said to the friend beside her, "At least I finally have something to show to my husband. He doesn't understand why I keep going to horse shows when I never win anything. I try to explain to him how much I enjoy competing, even though I never win. He doesn't get it."


Yet, I also am puzzled by those who refuse money offered, as though it's some sort of sin. They scoff and mock those who are wealthy, as though one should never travel down that path. As though, if such judgmental souls won the lottery, they'd give all the money back. (Yeah, right.) Or, if they did take those lottery winnings, the "proper" thing to do is give it all away. (Yeah, right.) One thing I am certain of: if you condemn those with money, you will never have money yourself. You'll always somehow manage to arrange things so that you have "just enough" and continue to think badly of those who use money to (gasp!) actually enjoy themselves.


I remember reading about a spiritual guru a few decades back who gave away every cent he earned from giving seminars and such. He lived like a pauper. When he could no longer work, he had no money to live on. He was completely dependent on others to give him money or charity to exist. He regretted having giving all his money away, because it made him a burden to others later in his life.


The societal schizophrenia about money creates a lot of unhappiness. I'm glad I love money. And I'm glad that I love various things in life that that have nothing to do with money.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page