top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

The Best Haircut

Because it was so unexpected and so appreciated.

Not my head. But could be from the back.

I was resigned to not getting a needed haircut before leaving for a road trip this coming weekend. The one salon that finally opened a week ago was for men only, and they had over 250 people in the online check-in list.


I cut a clump of my own bangs that was falling into my eyes. It actually looked fine.


Then I happened to check the app yesterday morning for the chain salon I use. It was open! Limited hours. But what about the wait? Only 45 minutes. I signed up right away and drove down there.


They greeted me outside. Ask a series of boring questions (like they do/did -- I haven't flown on a plane since 2003 -- at the airport) and then took my temperature by pressing something against my forehead for less than one second. (If this is a normal thing... well, the fact that it was new to me indicates how long it's been since I've been to a doctor. I think that last happened in 2003, too.)


Then I got to go inside and got seated right away. Despite my very thick hair, and the difficulty of cutting around a bulky mask, it didn't take any longer than usual.


Leaving there with less weight on my head gave me such a exhilarating feeling that things are started to get back to normal.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page