top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

Sunday Thought

And even if the storm does disrupt, funny how often it turns out to be beneficial.


The most important thing is not to be afraid of the storm.


I used to judge everything as good or bad. If I made it to work without having to stop at a stoplight it was a "good day" -- never mind that I'd forgotten about that commute as soon as I started work and my focus shifted to what was immediately in front of me.


I rarely think of things as good or bad anymore; and if I do judge something to be "bad", I know it's only as bad as I want to make it out to be. All paths lead somewhere, even if just back to the beginning.


I've tried to make the argument, such as to clients, that sometimes the best way to find the ideal path is to start in the direction that makes the most sense to them, and if it turns out to be wrong, they'll be all the wiser. It is amazing to me how many don't want to do that, because they're determined to "get it right the first time" -- as though they'll be zapped from the face of the Earth if --- gasp! -- they made the wrong choice. When, if fact, the wrong choice is the clearest instruction for finding the best choice.


It's astounding to me how many people are terrified of doing something "wrong". And of course, the only reason something is ever wrong is because we imagine someone else labeling it as such. God forbid there ever be anything more important to us than what somebody else thinks.


As far as I'm concerned, if going in the wrong direction made me realize what was instead the right way, then going the "wrong" way wasn't wrong. It served its purpose.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page