top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

Enjoying All The Humor

Associated with current times. Seems to be way more of that than alarm -- as long as one doesn't indulge the news media.

I can't recall a time when the world at large was so eager to have a sense of humor. Maybe the world needed this.


My life certainly isn't any different, other than a few items I couldn't pick up at the store when I went. But I've no doubt those items will be there next time.


Still hopeful that I'll be able to take a road trip the second half of May and, if not, then eager to see where that particular stream of life flows.


Love it that horse racing is still racing -- at least, many of the tracks are, even without spectators. Horses need to be fed and purse money is needed to pay for care and upkeep. I owned in two that raced this past weekend, getting a second and a third. The MyRacehorse.com group is buying horses at a 2yo auction going on in Florida, so that's a sign of optimism for the future.


I personally don't know anyone who is in a state of alarm. Well, maybe my favorite client. He has two young daughters, including an infant. But he was more blown away by walking in downtown Denver, from his condo to his office, and seeing the streets deserted.


I share a birthdate with Lucien Lauren, the trainer of Secretariat. Liked the old quote today from Lauren on the Big Horse's Facebook page: "You know when I got this colt this spring, I took one look at him and thought he wouldn't beat a fat man. He was so perfect that I figured there had to be something wrong with him. Horses that are so good-looking usually can't run. But, this one -- wow!" For that matter Meadow Stud, where Secretariat was foaled, had a journal that was kept by owner Penny Tweedy. It was said that when she saw baby Secretariat for the first time, she wrote one word in the journal -- "Wow!" Secretariat was born fifty years ago this month, and my daily thoughts of him still makes me go "Wow!"


I was waiting for inspiration on what to do next, as far as writing -- and I got a "hit" during a meditation session. Nothing to do with fandom, but it'll be a project that will keep me busy for quite a while. I so love the feeling writing gives me; it's such a natural state of being.


I came across a reference to a book called "Why Your Life Sucks... and what to do about it." The reference included one of the points in the book being that nothing is worth doing unless it's a "Hell YES!" Any possible action one is pondering over ("Should I quit my job?" "Should I agree to marry him?") shouldn't be taken unless feels an enthusiastic "Hell YES!" about doing it. Intellectual evaluation has nothing to do with the appropriateness of a potential action. I've come to live my life in agreement with that in recent years. Action is for enjoying the results of one's creations. "Making it happen" is the universe's job, as directed by one's wants and desires, via their focused attention. The "Hell YES!" feeling is the sign from God that one has matched up to what was created just for them.


Here's to looking forward to more "Hell YES!" moments.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page