top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

In My Most Recent Freefall Dream

I actually hit bottom.

I've had a lot of dreams over the past few decades of being in freefall. USually, they involve being in a car and going off a cliff. I always realize this is how my physical life is ending and I feel at peace about it and decide to enjoy the feeling of sailing through the air. The dreams always end before I hit bottom.


I suppose these dreams are inspired in large part by a late friend of mine. She told me once about how she was driving in her car in a Denver suburb, hit a patch of ice on a bridge, and her car flew uncontrolled toward the edge of the bridge. She knew she was going over the bridge to the highway below, and therefore going to die, and she was amazed that she felt completely at peace and sat calmly to watch the end. Then her car hit the guardrail. So, instead of dying she ended up with a severely damaged car.


Last night, I had a dream where I was driving in Illinois, as part of my road trip to New England. I took an exit and found myself sailing through the air, and the rural ground below was far, far away. I was thinking this was a strange way to take an exit, but I was now outside of my car -- in fact, it was small enough to fit in my arms, and I made sure I held it securely against me as I fell peacefully through the air, so I'd have it with me when I landed. As always, I made a decision to just enjoy the fall. It felt so free and natural and comfortable. No stinging, freezing air. No fear of hitting the bottom.


For the first time ever in one of these dreams, I hit the bottom -- or, rather, I landed smoothly on my feet. Then my car was normal size again, so I got in it and drove off.


I've had so many of these types of dreams that I think it highly likely that I'll die this way -- sailing off a cliff. And while others might be horrified at such an idea, I'll feel completely at peace -- perhaps outright exhilarated -- in those final moments.


Scientists have said that dreams are our minds sorting out various things in our lives. Abraham-Hicks says similar things, though in their specific jargon, they say that our dreams indicate what our point of attraction is, in that it tells us what we're thinking about and therefore drawing to us, whether we want it or not. I feel conscious appreciation every day about the freedom of my life and my trust in myself and in the universe. I think these dreams reflect that.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page