top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

I Love Getting Hit...

...by the universe.

Scrapple is a sort of flow chart app, where one starts with a blank page and can diagram ideas and create relationships between them.

Recently, I was thinking about buying something that cost more than a few hundred dollars, but felt like it was too extravagant. So, I put it out of my mind, but would sometimes think about it. Then, a couple of days ago, it just suddenly felt right to go ahead and spend the money, even though it was quite a chunk. So, I did.


A few hours later, the mail came, and in it was a large check from a client for a one-time project that I wasn't sure I was going to get paid for. After my first invoice was 30 days old, the client told me he would "get you paid", which I thought meant right away. But the money didn't come. Subsequent follow-ups brought no response. I figured the money would arrive when I least expected it, and put it out of my mind.


So, I bought this expensive thing, and suddenly the money showed up. Like, God or the universe or Source of whatever, knew that it would. (Duh.) These moments of serendipity make me feel so exhilarated. It's like the universe had hit me with a "go ahead", and the purchase suddenly didn't feel like A Big Deal. With the arrival of the money, it definitely wasn't.


Today, while meditating, I was milking that feeling of being utterly delighted by such blatant evidence of how the universe works. Then, I got another "hit". All of sudden, I had an urge to draw a diagram of my current life, on a flow chart-ish app called Scrapple that I'd downloaded over a year ago, but only used once.


Under the heading of "never question the whys or wherefores of a hit", I went ahead and opened Scrapple and put together a "Me" flowchart. As I was doing so, it occurred to me that the process made me feel a lot more comfortable with the app (as well as reminding me of its existence), and it would be really good for brainstorming a couple of projects I'm doing between now and the end of the year, before work gets crazy in January. One of those projects is figuring out plotlines for the final stories in the "Adventure" series, and the other is figuring out all the pages I want to do in Notion, so that it's an all-in-one app for organizing my life. I assume that's why I got the hit, because I'd been asking for inspiration.


I love, love, love playing with the universe.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page