top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

I Feel So Blessed

This is my view tonight from my hotel window.

I took this photo from the back patio of my hotel.

After visiting my fan friend Sandy and her husband yesterday, on the border of Iowa and Davenport, I headed north to Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, to spend the night. Today I drove up the "River Road" along the western border that parallels the Mississippi River. Then I was going to slant across the top of Wisconsin to a border town with Michigan. Things didn't work out that way, and when I found myself in the northern town of Ashland, Wisconsin, I was so awed the magnificence of Lake Superior (which I saw a few years back from Duluth, Minnesota), that I wanted to stay. Thankfully, due to the virus and it not quite being tourist season, this kind of view only cost $90 for the evening.


I got a Subway sandwich for dinner and ate it at a small parking area overlooking the lake. It brought back fond memories to see the few seagulls soaring around, landing, and gazing, going back to my spiritual quest on a beach in North Carolina in 1999.


Also under the heading of blessings, I didn't hit a deer this morning. Don't know how that didn't happen, but it didn't. There was an indicator light on my dashboard this morning that I hadn't seen before. I kept looking down at it, puzzling over it. Once, when I looked up, a brown blur was running by. Right in front of my car. I mean, like one foot, at most, in front of my car. No time to react. No time to brake. I could only gasp in surprise, realize there was going to be a collision, and... there wasn't. Somehow, despite being so, so close, the deer didn't get hit by any part of my car. I didn't see where she came from or where she went. Just couldn't believe how fast she went by. How close she was.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page