top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

I Envy My Friend in Montana

She's going on a trail ride pretty much every weekend.

My friend was predicting gloom and doom for her life when I visited last September. Such thoughts weren't new for her, but detrimental circumstances had reached a new level of intensity. She seemed to think that riding regularly, which she loved so much, would soon be in the rear-view mirror. Turns out, she's gone on beautiful, spectacular trail rides nearly every weekend this summer, accompanied by others who also appreciate such.


I don't personally know of anyone who is suffering in the present environment, except those who were already in state of suffering well before COVID and the other news headlines of the past six months.


For a while, conversations with clients often included references to "all this craziness", but now it seems that most have adapted (as living things do) and, other than wearing masks when in the presence of others, there's very little sign that anything unusual is going on. Yet, click on the TV and apparently the world -- and particularly America -- is in awful and terrible and horrible shape, per those who feel that life is never dramatic enough to satisfy them.


I've got plenty of drama going on in my life. Wonderful drama. Always looking forward to horses racing and the related heart-pounding excitement. I still find myself reflecting back to moments on my 5500-mile road trip in the spring. Work is still satisfying and the money is flowing, as clients have no problem paying me. I've written some more on a semi-autobiographical thing I've got going, while I continue to be receptive to more inspiring ideas.


I did have one little "WHAT??" burp in recent days. I'm on a Starsky & Hutch Facebook group that, for the second time in recent months, has emphasized that they're slash-friendly, which apparently means that a post is off-topic unless it involves sex. To me, that's not slash-friendly, but slash-required, which baffles me no end. There's gen groups ready to pounce if anyone dares breathes a whisper of slash, and the one active slash-friendly group is apparently ready to pounce if anyone dares to neglect to mention sex.


Whatever happened to slash-friendly meaning slash is welcome without censure, but the show itself is, first and foremost, still what's most important? Oh well. If that's the worst discomfiture I've got going on right now, life is pretty spectacular and I'll take it any day over a viewpoint that the world is burning.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page