top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

Holy Crap!

The universe continues to amaze me so, so much.

So, I've had this vacation to New England planned for May of 2021 for about six months now. It's that far in the future because with the pet sitting and motel rooms for a dozen days are so, for starters, the trip is going to cost a few thousand dollars, and I don't want to charge up credit cards with money that it'll take me a long time to pay off. So, I started a savings account last fall and calculated that I'd have enough by May of 2021. (Want to travel in May to beat the summer crowd and higher summer rates, and prefer it to Autumn, because the latter has more risk of being caught in an early season winter storm.)


I've been saying that I would move the trip up to May of 2020, if somehow the money worked out. In the past few weeks, May of 2021 was starting to feel really far away, though I couldn't imagine how I can have a few thousands dollars fall into my lap between now and May 2020. But I could sense the momentum building -- in terms of the universe gathering "cooperative components" -- and my belief got stronger that the vacation could happen this year. I also know that one of the fastest ways to stifle something from manifesting is to doubt it by asking "how?" So, I just thought I'll follow the signs if the universe leads the way. And if it doesn't happen this year, then that means it's to my benefit for the vacation to happen in 2021.


I thought if I do come up on some money, it would be because I win a lottery ticket, or maybe hit an exacta with some longshots when I bet on the new races in Saudi Arabia this Saturday. (Since I've bought my own stable of racehorses with microshares, I've had practically zilch interest in betting -- far more interested in simply enjoying the excitement of my own horses -- but I was looking forward to the longshot potential with large fields of quality horses for Saudi Arabia's first international meet.)


So, yesterday afternoon the mail comes, way earlier than the seven o'clock or so at night that it's been coming. In it is one of the numerous ads I get asking if I want to refinance my house. I never pay attention, because my mortgage is at a lovely 4% fixed rate, and who could possibly top that with a lower rate? But I just happened to look at the numbers on the advertising flyer -- which I knew was full of over-blown promises -- but it claimed is could get me a 3.25% rate, and I could get X amount of cash and still have a lower mortgage payment than I'm paying now. So, I thought, what the heck? Why not call? If it somehow worked out, then I could have cash to go on vacation in a few months.


First, I did a little research to make sure the company was legit, and while there were some outcries of "scammers!", most were impressed. So, I called the number, while already having much of the stuff I knew they'd be asking for at my fingertips. After spending 15 minutes or so taking my information, I got a call about an hour later from another guy who said they'd talked to the underwriters, and they could get me a 3.3% fixed rate, give me $17,000 cash, pay off my home equity line of credit along with the first -- all for a monthly payment that would be thirty bucks less than what I'm paying now. That on top of being able to skip two months of payments during the transition from one mortgage to the next, and a refund of escrow money from the prior mortgage company. It all amounts to over $20,000 cash in my pocket in the next few months. (They could have also paid off my car, but that loan is at zero percent interest, so it didn't make any sense to do so.)


Well, okay then. This was all feeling terrific. (I've been a homeowner since 1992 and have been through lots of refinancings, so I'm thankfully comfortable with the process.) The guy went on to say that they got a response from the underwriter so quickly because I'd already provided my tax returns and he said "kudos -- you're the very first customer we've had in 2020 who already has their 2019 tax return filed". What can I say? I'm organized and efficient. Life is easier is that way.

Toward the end of the afternoon, they emailed me the twenty or so documents for the application process that needed to be electronically signed. As I was going through them, I told the guy on the phone with me, "Funny that just three hours ago, I hadn't even thought about refinancing my home." He said "Yeah, you're one of the fastest accounts we've ever put into process. You'll be hearing from us tomorrow morning that your rate is locked in. And then we'll be scheduling the appraisal." I didn't see any reason to share my thoughts with him, but when the universe comes calling, if you want a happy easy life, then don't slam the door in its face with doubt and negativity.


I contacted a couple of people in New England that I hope to meet up with, so hopefully our schedules can work out. And then there will need to be arrangements with the pet sitter. So, specific dates are still up in the air.


It's not a done deal until it's a done deal -- which will likely take another month -- but I was exhilarated the remainder of the day. I love so, so much the way the universe works. And I love that I'm aware enough to not get in its way when it's helping me to create the very thing that I've been asking for.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page