top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

Clickety-Click

People don't click around the web like they used to, do they?


Charlotte Frost Website is Getting a Face Lift

I don't think so. A fan friend and I had a discussion about this a while back. I was saying that people don't click on links the way they used to, which surprised my friend. Now, online users are so inundated with ads, newsletters, and such, that they only take time to look at stuff that they proactively want to peruse.


Used to be, if you presented someone with a screen of links, they would start clicking on the links to see where they led. I can remember in the early days of Livejournal, when a lot of fellow Sentinel fans were discovering it, many of us would say that we ended up at someone's highly interesting journal without being sure of how we got there. We just kept clicking on things and ended up somewhere fun and exciting.


Alas, the internet is now a normal part of life -- often associated with work -- and so it's no longer assumed to be a gateway to things fun and exciting. I've reached this conclusion because of seeing websites with information readily available, and people don't bother to access them, but instead ask the site manager, or some such, about stuff that could be easily found if the requester had only bothered to look.


With my own Charlotte Frost fanfic website, which I feel is unusually clean and easy to maneuver, there's been readers who were surprised that there's a menu with all my old S&H fanzine stories. There's been readers who have been surprised to know that I have written stories in other fandoms than S&H, even though links to those stories are right there on my home page. In other words, such readers have never bothered to click on links available on the website -- they were apparently only interested in what they were reading that particular moment. I've also seen comments on my stories on Archive of Our Own, where people are eager to see future stories from me, apparently never bothering to read in the notes that I have a link to my website that has many, many more stories that I've never posted to AO3.


I've also seen in the online horse racing game I've been playing for a decade, where players (sometimes even ones who have been around a long time) suggest that the admins create a list of a particular thing, and someone points out that such a list is already available, and the link is right there in the game menu.


So, it's kind of frustrating for a website admin to provide information in an accessible way, yet many who would be interested in it don't try to find it. But I also consider such behavior understandable. Even as long as twenty years ago, when the internet was still a new frontier, I had a co-worker who put me on her email list for a newsletter about various business-related online things. When she asked me, I told her honestly that I only quickly browsed it and didn't read it. When she asked why, I said that if I was interested in any of the particular articles -- such as on Quickbooks accounting software -- I could access the Qbooks site directly, so why read about someone else talking about Qbooks? I figure that's the case with the vast majority of newsletter that people put out. Most potential readers mostly aren't interested most of the time. Ditto what's available on most websites. Except for that moment when they are.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page