top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlotte Frost

A Week to Remember

Topped off with the Labor Day Weekend

Really, these record temps are supposed to happen in the Denver area. Record heat over the weekend, followed by record early snowfall and freezing overnight.


Thankfully, I'm not too affected by weather. The air conditioning works, the heat works, and I have clothing to at least go for a walk -- if not ride my bike -- in a wide variety of weather. I rarely have need to travel when the roads are less than ideal.



The week has been wonderful because I don't remember the last time I've had butterflies for this extended length of time. Waiting for two horses I own microshares in, Vertical Threat and Authentic, to run at Churchill Downs on Saturday. Both will have to try new distances for the first time. Authentic is in the big race (delayed fourth months due to COVID), and every year there's good horses that run horribly, so I'm certainly prepared for him to be yet another also ran. But since he's expected to be one of the early leaders, that would be a thrill if he could be in front for while.


I'm actually way more emotionally invested in Vertical Threat. He runs a few hours before the Kentucky Derby, in the 500k Pat Day Mile. With two super easy wins in three starts, here's hoping he's up to this huge step up in class.


Then, after what's sure to be an exhausting day, I'll have to wait until 9:30pm Saturday before our 4yo filly Amandra runs in Oklahoma, where they have night racing.


I never expected to be in this situation when I bought a share in Vertical Threat last July. Even some fifteen horses and ten months later, I never expected to be able to say "I have a horse in the Kentucky Derby" -- and one with a legitimate chance, at that.


One thing I learned from being in a racing partnership in the 90s was that, whether I owned 5% of a $5,000 horse or 1.5% of a $100,000 horse, the thrills and disappointments were the same. Quantity doesn't matter. I either own in a horse or I don't. I think people are nuts when they buy multiple shares in a single horse, when they could be spreading out their money over a lot more horses and thereby experiencing a lot more action.



It feels like I'm on vacation from work. I have things to do, but nothing that's time sensitive until late next month. Once the races are behind me, I'm probably going to pick up writing again, after being away from it for a while. And/or pick up again the Asimov books I've been reading. Or maybe I'll just play some computer games in a grandiose way. Or maybe I'll study up on learning some more about apps I'm using or thinking about using. It's hard to know what will feel most satisfying.


I do know that I feel tremendously blessed and wealthy to have such a wonderful life.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page